Custom Search

Friday, January 23, 2009

This is strange

I logged in to a bill paying site I have used for several years and got this message:

Please note that you will only see this message once and must take immediate action on it.

We take great care to keep your personal information secure. As part of these ongoing efforts, we are notifying you that the computer you use for online bill payment may have been exposed to software that puts the security of your computer's contents at risk. This letter will help you determine if your computer is actually infected and advise you how to fix the problem and protect yourself against future risk.

The malicious software affects some but not all customers who accessed online bill payment on Tuesday, December 2, 2008. For a limited period of time, some customers were redirected from the authentic bill payment service to another site that may have installed malicious software. Your computer may be infected if all of the following are true:

* You attempted to access online bill payment between 12:30 a.m. and 10:10 a.m. Eastern time (GMT -5) on Tuesday, December 2, 2008, and
* You were using a computer with the Windows operating system, and
* You reached a blank screen rather than the usual bill payment screen when you attempted to navigate to online bill payment, and
* After reaching the blank screen, your computer's virus protection program did not tell you via pop-up or other messaging that malicious software was detected and quarantined.

If all four of the conditions above are true, your computer may be infected. We have partnered with McAfee, .... Please contact us ... for further instructions. We will also offer you both advice and free services that can help you mitigate any risk you may face as a result of this incident or other everyday exposures you may encounter. ...

We value your business and your trust, and we apologize for any inconvenience this recent incident has caused.


I am not sure exactly what day or time I logged in, but there is no way I remember what time I logged in or what messages I received. I guess I will give them a call tomorrow and see what is up. I guess I should assume I got hit and get the fix.

2 comments:

Theia said...

I hate that stuff. Is it a legitimate warning, or is the warning a virus in and of itself?? Bah.

Stephen Andert said...

Since they are telling me to call their # rather than click a link, I suspect it is a legit warning about a problem.